Black Sabbath, Avenged Sevenfold, Deep Purple Among Winners at 2014 "Revolver" Golden Gods Awards

RevolverMag.comThe sixth annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards took place Wednesday at Club Nokia in Los Angeles, and besides previously announced special honorees Joan Jett and Axl Rose, the evening's winners included Black Sabbath, Avenged Sevenfold, Deep Purple, Rob Zombie and members of Queens of the Stone Age and Five Finger Death Punch.

The show also included several exciting performances.  Slayer made an unannounced appearance to kick off the event, and introduced a brand-new song titled "Implode" during its three-song set.  Jett, who was presented with the Golden God Award by Alice Cooper, was joined by Pretty Reckless singer Taylor Momsen and ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons for a rendition of her hit "I Hate Myself for Loving You."  To close out the night, Rose received the Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award from Nicolas Cage, then hit the stage to perform with the current Guns N' Roses lineup, along with founding bassist Duff McKagan.

On the awards front, Black Sabbath took home the Album of the Year prize for 13, while Deep Purple surprisingly beat out Sabbath for the Comeback of the Year honor.  The biggest winner was Avenged Sevenfold, which received the Most Devoted Fans prize, in addition to the band's Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance nabbing the Dimebag Darrell Best Guitarist award and Arin Ilejay taking home the Best Drummer trophy.  Rob Zombie was awarded the Best Live Band prize, Queens of the Stone Age's Josh Homme was named Best Singer and Five Finger Death Punch's Chris Kael received the Paul Gray Best Bassist Award.

Some video highlights of the ceremony can be viewed at Revolver magazine's official YouTube channel.

Here is the full list of 2014 Revolver Golden Gods Awards winners:

Best Vocalist: Josh Homme, Queens of the Stone Age
Best Live Band: Rob Zombie
Most Devoted Fans: Avenged Sevenfold
Best New Talent: Twelve Foot Ninja
Comeback of the Year: Deep Purple
Paul Gray Best Bassist Award: Chris Kael, Five Finger Death Punch
Best Film or DVD: Pierce the Veil, "This Is a Wasteland”
Best Drummer: Arin Ilejay, Avenged Sevenfold
Song of the Year: Five Finger Death Punch, "Lift Me Up"
Most Metal Athlete: Josh Barnett, Mixed Martial Arts
Dimebag Darrell Best Guitarist: Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance, Avenged Sevenfold
Album of the Year: Black Sabbath, 13
Golden God Award: Joan Jett
Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award: Axl Rose

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio